Ramblings from my pages… #16

Welcome to the sixteenth instalment of Ramblings from my pages… I haven’t posted a rambling since the beginning of the month, that should give you a heads up as to how busy March has been. Essays to write, clinical placements to complete, I celebrated my 30th birthday, March has certainly kept me busy!

This post was inspired by It’s Book Talk’s “5 on Friday: Things I’m Loving Lately” – it differs slightly, similar in that it will feature bookish and non-bookish topics, but different in that I will ramble about things I’m loving, hating, wishing for, links I’ve enjoyed, life updates – you name it, I may just ramble about it. The only staple feature of this post will be concluding it with a cool link I found around the web.

Today’s ramblings topics: Finding the Time, Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron, March Wrap Up, Zoo on Netflix. Whether you read the entire post or jump to the section(s) you’re interested in, I hope you enjoy my ramblings.

Finding the Time

I need you to share your secrets with me, those of you who work 9-5 five days a week, how on earth do you find the time to blog (write blog posts, read and share others), how do you find the time to use social media in general!? Do you have a system, limit yourself to a certain amount of social media time every day, share your secrets.

Since I started my clinical placement two weeks ago, I’ve become one of those ‘in bed by 9 on a week night’ people. I get home from work: make dinner, spend some time with my son, settle down to read, manage a few chapters, then I’m so tired it’s time for bed and the clock says 8.30pm – I push on till about 9pm but I feel exhausted. Not forgetting to mention, my job is emotionally intense, and when I get home, sometimes I don’t want to do anything for a while, except relax and just be! I manage a few days of Instagram a week, sporadic blogging, and think this time will disappear once I start my essay in the evenings (if I can stay awake). I never thought I’d say this but I miss working long days – those 14 hour shifts were a killer, but at least I only had to do three of them a week and then I had four days off. Maybe this is because it’s been over a year since I worked 9-5 and it’s just taking some getting used to, my body readjusting to these working hours.

Audiobooks are going to be my future, listening to them on my commute to and from work may be the only reading I get done! If you have a routine, if you’re happy to share, please leave me a comment.

Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron

I believe I’ve found it, the best cover of the year! This YA Fantasy novel is publishing in September, and I’m already obsessed with it! Thankfully the synopsis is highly appealing too, because I would have bought this book for decoration, for that cover alone!

Magic has a price–if you’re willing to pay.

The lush world building of Children of Blood and Bone meets the sweeping scale of Strange the Dreamer in this captivating epic YA fantasy debut.

Born into a family of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. But each year she fails to call forth her ancestral powers, while her ambitious mother watches with growing disapproval.

There’s only one thing Arrah hasn’t tried, a deadly last resort: trading years of her own life for scraps of magic. Until the Kingdom’s children begin to disappear, and Arrah is desperate to find the culprit.

She uncovers something worse. The long-imprisoned Demon King is stirring. And if he rises, his hunger for souls will bring the world to its knees… unless Arrah pays the price for the magic to stop him.

Inspired by tales of folk magic in her own community, Rena Barron spins a darkly magical tale perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns or Shadow and Bone, about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and her own mother’s schemes.

March Wrap Up

6 books, 3 audiobooks – BOTM: The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

Zoo on Netflix

Ah, the pain of one of your favourite shows being cancelled! Zoo is an American TV series based on James Patterson’s novel [with the same name]. What’s it about: animal species all over the world begin attacking humans, controversial zoologist Jackson Oz tries to discover the cause of the sudden change. Oz and his team search to find the cause and cure for the animal mutation.

I watched the first season on Sky a few years ago, then recently found out all three season are on Netflix, so before I started my clinical placement, I binge watched the next two seasons! The final episode ended on a huge cliff-hanger, and CBS have cancelled the show due to a massive decline in viewership. It’s doubtful Netflix will continue the series because the show has a lot of CGI and Netflix likely won’t deem the cost of production worthy due to the viewing numbers, but I remain hopeful.

Have you watched Zoo, what did you think? Have there been any shows you’ve loved that have been cancelled suddenly?

Photo from: Tech Junkie

LINK AROUND THE WEB

I don’t like the title of this post, but if you’re looking for a list of books about Black British culture, this list is a good place to start. BuzzFeed have put together this quiz, which also serves as a reading list: Tell Us How Many Of These Books About Black British Culture You’ve Read And I’ll Tell You How Loud You Can Be About Race

***

I hope you enjoyed reading this post as much as I enjoyed writing it, and you’ll join me soon for some more ramblings.

If you missed my last rambling you can find it here – topics: Bookish Frustration: Hardback to Paperback, Evil Has a Name – Podcast, February Wrap Up, and Be Careful – Cardi B.

27 thoughts on “Ramblings from my pages… #16

  1. Ahhh Janel it’s so hard isn’t it? I can only tell you what I do and I still struggle so I don’t know if it’s much help. 😕 In an ideal world, I do a lot of my blogging on weekends, schedule ahead for the week but sometimes life gets in the way or I’m too flipping exhausted from the week! Also, I’m lucky in that way coz I don’t have children yet. Failing that, during the week I have dinner and blog hop when I get home, spend an hour doing a post and any little bits of admin, then I have about an hour of free time to chill/read before reading in bed. Any other little bits of time I have waiting for a bus/train I reply to comments/Twitter etc. It is hard though – it’s like another part time job!! 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So hard, I’ve just written three reviews and scheduled them for next week so that’s my posting done, I think scheduling reviews is definitely key if I want to maintain a constant posting presence in the blogosphere. I think an hour is a decent amount of time, but it goes so quickly, during the week, I said to myself, I’ll catch up on everyones IG posts for an hour, 2 hours later I was still scrolling, liking and commenting. I think I just have to accept that I won’t be able to read everyone’s posts (blog and IG), but I think it’s more important to leave a meaningful comment than just mass like posts.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha, I’m glad I’m not alone. When I was reading The Lost Man this week, I actually switched between the audio and hardback so I could fit it in anywhere I could. Thankfully, my library had the audio! But it’s definitely a struggle to find the time for everything else!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy belated birthday from me too lovely, I missed it too 😔. You’ll get used to the 9-5 and you’ll be able to have longer evenings but basically yes, now you see why I only finish one book a week and I envy those who can read 6 ☺️ I try to check my social media each day but will also pick and choose what to read. Good thing I don’t have any other hobbies and I’m not a social person 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy belated birthday! I hear you on the whole finding time thing. I tend to listen to audiobooks during my nearly half hour commute and read for most of my lunch hour, then do most of my writing on the weekends. Scheduling blog posts and social media posts is also huge! And I’ve learned that two posts a week is really my limit, when I try to do more I just wind up feeling overwhelmed. 🤷‍♀️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!

      Yes scheduling posts is a godsend, if only I could schedule and autopost on Instagram too! I listen to audios on my commute too, but I don’t like speeding up the narration (I sometimes have it on x1.25) so it take me ages to get through an audiobook 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy belated birthday! I hope it was a lovely day for you!

    If you ever find that solution to how to time-manage blogging with work and life, let me know 😂 When I started blogging I was transitioning between work, totally burnt out on my old work so taking time to figure out what I was going to do next, and filled some time with writing about what I was reading. Now that I’m more settled in freelancing I have up to 10-15 hour workdays, which makes regular life hard, let alone any kind of hobby beyond reading a bit until I fall asleep! I only post 2-3 times a week so that helps, and I don’t use much social media, even personally, let alone for the blog which also frees up more time than you would imagine. I still find myself asking way too often if I can continue doing it, though. Even investing a minimal amount of time ends up feeling like more than I can manage, sometimes. So you’re not alone in wondering how it’s possible…I hope you find the best way to manage it for you with your work, sounds crazy busy but I know you’re passionate about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I had a wonderful birthday!

      I don’t have any personal social media, it’s all bookish, I don’t know how people manage both. I think I’m going to cut down on Twitter, it’s my least favourite platform and a lot of my time is wasted there. It’s a tricky one as I have coursework to do too, so I don’t think I’ll really find any true balance until my last essay is completed.

      I have thought about waking up an hour earlier to enjoy a cup of coffee and a do some reading before work, but while I love the idea, that won’t become a reality, so I need to find realistic options. I’m adamant the time is there, I just need to improve my time management

      Like

  5. Sometimes I get into work early (7:30am) and spend 30-60 mins sitting in my office just reading!

    If I manage to finish a book, it’s a nice time to be able to start writing up my reviews too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get to work with about half hour to spare, I usually sit in the car listening to my audiobook, and Instagramming. Sometimes I wonder about setting my alarm earlier so I can wake up, have a coffee and a some reading time before I start my day 🤔

      Like

  6. That link is an amazing resource for non-fiction books and I’m definitely going to bookmark it. I’m pro everyone and everything but I’m terrible at actually educating myself on issues about race or the lgbtq community etc other than the articles I read online. Thanks for featuring it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s