Blog Tour | Book Review: Keep Your Friends Close by June Taylor #KeepYourFriendsClose #damppebblesblogtours

Keep Your Friends Close by June Taylor

Welcome to my stop on the Keep Your Friends Close blog tour, and happy eBook publication day to June Taylor! This exciting psychological thriller is available to buy now in eBook now, the paperback is available to pre-order.

bookdescription

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer…

An addictive and shocking psychological thriller, full of twists you won’t see coming, perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST by Laura Marshall.

A friend who won’t let you escape.
When Karin is taken on a romantic break by her loving partner Aaron, she can’t wait for him to propose. But her surprise weekend quickly becomes a nightmare from which she may never escape.

Who wants everything you have.
They are staying by the beach at the Midland – a grand hotel where Karin used to work. And where Karin’s dangerous and obsessive ex, whom she has been trying to leave behind for years, is waiting patiently for her to return.

Who won’t stop until your life is in ruins.
Now all of Karin’s darkest secrets are being dragged into the light and her friends are turning against her. When one of them is murdered, Karin begins to realise just how treacherous relationships can be…

mythoughts

We’ve all heard that phrase: ‘keep your friends close and your enemies closer’ – but just how close should you keep your enemies, how close is too close? For much of this novel, that was the intrigue, who should Karin trust? As the reader, you’re trying to analyse all the characters you meet, wondering if they’re genuine, if Karin should trust them. At the same time, you’re fed Karin’s secret in dribs and drabs, so there’s the additional intrigue of wanting to know the full details of this dark secret. You all know the classic ‘Janel line’ by now: everything done in the dark will come to light!

If you’re anything like me, you’re wary of psychological thrillers these days, you know that fear of ‘too much of the same’ – well you don’t have to worry about that here, I found this novel to be thrilling, the plot was particularly interesting and it had just enough emotion to make me care! The background of Karin was particularly interesting, and it, for me, made her a really interesting protagonist.

Keep Your Friends Close is told in alternating perspectives, and has very short chapters – this all works to build the tension throughout the novel. I’d be lying if I said there wasn’t a few moments where things got a tad dramatic, but on the whole, I really enjoyed this novel. I think it brings something different, with regards to the secret that’s being kept, Karin’s past in particular, and her passion for her cause, were real highlights for me. You get a real sense of desperation from Karin, this need to do all that she can to keep her secret. She wishes she’d handled things differently; told the truth from the beginning because now it’s too late – now she’s no longer living, but surviving, as the past is closing in!

Would I recommend this novel? Absolutely! I flew through it in two-sittings; the pacing is perfect, there was never any point when I wished the plot would hurry up and move along. Taylor got things spot-on when she penned this novel, and if you’re a fan of psychological thrillers clouded in dark secrets, this may just be the novel for you.

This book is available to buy from: Amazon UK / Waterstones / Book Depository / Foyles

*My thanks to HarperCollins for providing me a copy of this book & Emma (Damppebbles Blog Tours) for inviting me to participate in the blog tour*

abouttheauthor

June Taylor.jpgJune Taylor is a UK psychological thriller writer.  For many years she was a TV promos writer/producer before turning to writing plays and fiction.  She was runner-up in the 2011 Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction competition with her YA novel. Her debut Adult psychological thriller Losing Juliet was nominated for the Not the Booker Prize 2017.

Keep Your Friends Close is June’s second psychological thriller for the HarperCollins Killer Reads imprint.  The ebook comes out on 26thOctober 2018 (paperback 10thJanuary 2019).

June is active in her local writing scene, including serving on the Board of Script Yorkshire and taking part in Leeds Big bookend.

When she’s not writing she likes to shrink her life down into a campervan and take off on some adventure with her husband.  She lives in Yorkshire.  You can also find June at her website. On Twitter and Facebook and occasionally on Instagram too. Amazon Author Page.

***

FOLLOW THE KEEP YOUR FRIENDS CLOSE BLOG TOUR

KEEP YOUR FRIENDS CLOSE banner

damppebbles blog tours

 

6 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Book Review: Keep Your Friends Close by June Taylor #KeepYourFriendsClose #damppebblesblogtours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s